Black Static 12

Of course, Interzone used to publish a lot of dark fiction (or horror, if you prefer) back in the days when it was edited by David Pringle. Nowadays most of the dark stuff finds a home in Black Static, and issue twelve is out now, with fiction from Steve Rasnic Tem, Nina Allan, Kim Lakin-Smith, Sarah Totton, Tim Casson and T.F. Davenport. There is also an interview with Gary A. Braunbeck, and dark non-fiction from Christopher Fowler, Stephen Volk, Mike O’Driscoll, Peter Tennant and Tony Lee. The cover is suitably disturbing.

If you take out a joint Interzone/Black Static subscription you’ll get a magazine a month. That works out at more than a story a week.

6 Responses to Black Static 12

  1. Des Lewis says:

    I’ve review the fiction in Black Static 12 at my site.

  2. jimsteel says:

    I’m looking forward to reading your reviews, Des, but you’re way ahead of me. I’ll probably wait until I’ve read the stories first.

  3. Ian Hunter says:

    Yes, been out the loop for the last few days, but got mine through last week from BBR, which is pretty good service, and it’s high up in the reading pile, under the Torchwood book I’m reading right now, well devouring would be a better description; and Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places, so I might get to it before the next issue comes out.

  4. jimsteel says:

    I’m a couple of stories into it now, Ian, and Nina Allen’s story is quite outstanding. T.F. Davenport’s is slighter, but has some of the blackest humour that I’ve seen in a long time. And that’s as far as I’ve got so far ‘cos deadlines keep running underfoot and tripping me up.

    BTW, I think the competition for the ‘Grotesque’ DVD is off the menu as it’s now illegal to distribute it because of the recent BBFC ruling. I didn’t fancy it much anyway, but I’m having a go at the others. They look pretty tasty.

  5. neilwilliamson says:

    I’m only a little further ahead than you Jim, but I agree 100% on the Nina Allen. Loved it.

  6. jimsteel says:

    Have you reached Steve Rasnic Tem’s story yet, Neil? It’s my new favourite so far.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

